Call us today on: 01642 850022 1 Kensington Rd, Middlesbrough TS5 6AL
Our Blog

The Bottle of Notes and mima in Middlesbrough town centre
15
feb
Careys’ Teesside And County Durham Events Diary
By: Michael McGeary

To help you plan, Careys have put together an exclusive diary featuring some of the exciting events taking place through the Teesside and County Durham area over the year.

From the great food and drink on offer at Middlesbrough’s popular Orange Pip Market to seeing performers from all over the world at Stockton International Riverside Festival, there’s something for everyone.

Thank you to Stockton, Redcar and Cleveland, Middlesbrough, Hartlepool and Darlington Councils for their help compiling our list.

If you spot anything we’ve missed, please email [email protected] and let us know.

PLEASE NOTE, ALL EVENTS ARE SUBJECT TO CHANGE, SO PLEASE CHECK WITH THE ORGANISERS CLOSER TO THE DATE TO CHECK.
 

FEBRUARY

Saturday February 17

What?
Chinese New Year Celebrations
Where? Darlington Library: Story Club for children aged three-to-seven years followed by a visit from the Chinese lion! Celebrations will also take place at the Joseph Pease Statue
Time? Story Club at 10.30am, celebrations at statue at 11.30am, 12.30pm and 1.30pm

MARCH

Saturday March 31

What?
Easter Eggstravaganza
Where?Joseph Pease Statue and Darlington Town Centre Shops
Time?11am–3pm

APRIL

Wednesday April 4

What?
Buzzy Bee Treasure Trail: Pop along for this fun quiz trail and see how much you know about our fuzzy friends. Small prize for each child. Cost £2 per child
Where? Flatts Lane Woodland Country Park
Time? 12pm–3pm

Friday April 6

What?
Scrufts: Bring your pooch along to Guisborough's very own dog show with many different categories. There will also be dog agility displays, doggy treasure trail and doggy stalls. Cost £1 per dog per activity, all money goes towards dog charities.
Where? Guisborough Forest and Walkway
Time? 12pm–3pm

Saturday April 14

What? Morris Dancing Festival
Where? Darlington Town Centre
Time? 9am

Sunday April 22

What? Spring Market: Browse the stalls, take a walk through the beautiful woods, spot the Gruffalo or join Marko to try some circus skills. Entry to the event is free, car parking £1
Where? Guisborough Forest and Walkway
Time? 11am – 3pm

Saturday April 28

What? Monthly Orange Pip Market: Food, drink, arts and live music return after the winter break
Where? Middlesbrough Town Centre
Time? Noon-7pm
Details: orangepipmarket.co.uk

MAY

Friday May 4, Saturday May 5, Sunday May 6

What? Darlington Jazz Festival
Where? Darlington Town Centre
Details: Visit darlingtonjazzfestival.co.uk to keep up with plans as they happen

Sunday May 20

What? Vintage Vehicle Rally: A variety of rare and unusual vintage vehicles from across the north. Admission to the event and museum is £1
Where? Head of Steam Railway Museum, Station Road, Darlington
Time? 11am–3pm
Details: steamheritage.co.uk

Saturday May 26

What? Orange Pip Market
Where? Middlesbrough Centre
Time? Noon-7pm

JUNE

Sunday June 3

What?
Middlesbrough Race For Life: 5k run for Cancer Research UK suitable for women of all abilities. Entry is £14.99 for women and £10 for children (under-six girls and boys free)  
Where? Centre Square, Middlesbrough
Time? 10.30am
Details: raceforlife.cancerresearchuk.org

Monday June 18

What? Armed Forces Day
Where? Market Square
Time? 10am–10.45am

Saturday June 23 and Sunday June 24

What? Fire Engine and Vintage Vehicle Show: A fun-filled day for all the family with more than 300 vehicles on display. Tickes £5, concessions £2.50, fives-and-under free, family (2+2) £12
Where? Preston Park Museum and grounds, Eaglesciffe
Time? 11am to 5pm

Saturday June 30

What? Darlington Community Carnival
Where? Parade from Darlington town centre to Stanhope Park
Time? 11am–5pm

Saturday June 30

What? Orange Pip Market
Where? Middlesbrough Centre
Time? Noon-7pm

JULY

Sunday July 1

What? Riverside 5k Run (affiliated runners £11, non-affiliated £13, minimum age 11, entries close June 25). Ali Brownlee 2k Fun Run (minimum age two, entry £7, entries close June 22)
Where? Riverside Stadium
Details? everyoneactive.com/runmiddlesbrough

Sunday July 1

What? Proms in the Park: Free live music event for people of all ages and tastes
Where? South Park, Darlington
Time? 2pm–6pm

Friday July 6 and Saturday July 7

What? Festival of Ingenuity: Celebrating Darlington’s engineering heritage
Where? Market Square, Feethams and Riverside, Darlington
Time? 10am–4pm
Details: festivalofingenuity.co.uk

Saturday July 28

What? Cleveland Show
Where? Stewart Park, Middlesbrough

Saturday July 28

What? Orange Pip Market
Where? Middlesbrough Centre
Time? Noon-to-7pm

AUGUST

Thursday August 2–Sunday August 5

What? Stockton International Riverside Festival: World famous programme of music, dance, drama, comedy and more
Where? Stockton High Street, Parish Gardens and the Riverside Stockton
Details: sirf.co.uk

Saturday August 11–Sunday August 19

What? Billingham International Folklore Festival of World Dance: Where cultures of the world unite
Where? Billingham town centre
Details: billinghamfestival.co.uk

Saturday August 25

What? Orange Pip Market
Where? Middlesbrough Centre
Time? Noon-7pm

Saturday August 25

What? Vintage Vehicle Display
Where? Darlington Town Centre

Sunday August 26

What? Tributes Live Music Event
Where? Darlington Market Square
Time? 1pm–6pm

SEPTEMBER

Sunday September 2

What?
Tees Pride 10k Run: (Affiliated runners £18, unaffiliated £18, minimum age 15, entries close August 24). Tees Pride 3k fun run (minimum age two, entry £8, entries close August 24)
Where? Starting on Hall Drive, Middlesbrough
Details: everyoneactive.com/runmiddlesbrough

Sunday September 9

What? Guisborough Forest Festival: A woodland fair for all the family with lots of free children’s activities
Where? Guisborough Forest and Walkway
Time? 10am–4pm

Sunday September 16

What? Rhythm and Blues Festival
Where? Darlington Market Square
Time? 1pm–5.20pm
Details: darlington-r-n-b-club.co.uk

Saturday September 22 and Sunday 24

What? Festival of Thrift: Be entertained, inspired and educated about how to live thriftily and sustainably in style
Where? Kirkleatham Museum and Showgrounds, Redcar
Details: festivalofthrift.co.uk

Saturday September 29

What? Orange Pip Market
Where? Middlesbrough Centre
Time? Noon-7pm

Sunday September 30

What? 193rd birthday celebrations of the Stockton and Darlington Railway 
Where? Head of Steam Railway Museum, Station Road, Darlington
Time? 10am–4pm

OCTOBER

Saturday October 13

What: Twisterella: Award-winning multi-venue music festival featuring the brightest emerging national and international talent and a selection of regional acts. Tickets £16-plus booking fee, 18+ only
Where? Venues include Teesside Uni Students’ Union, the Townhouse and TSOne, with pop sessions all over!
Details: twisterella.co.uk

Sunday October 28

What? Halloween At Head Of Steam
Where? Head Of Steam Railway Museum, Station Road, Darlington
Time? 11am–3.30pm

November

Sunday November 4

What? Stockton Fireworks
Where? Riverside, Stockton

Monday November 5

What? Hartlepool Fireworks
Where? Seaton Carew

Sunday November 11

What? Remembrance Sunday
Where? Middlesbrough Cenotaph

Sunday November 11

What? Remembrance Sunday
Where? Hartlepool Cenotaph

Thursday November 22

What? Darlington Christmas Lights Switch On
Where? Market Square
Time? 5pm–6.30pm

Thursday November 22 – Saturday November 24 (TBC)

What? Darlington Christmas Markets
Where? Darlington Town Centre and Indoor Market
Time? TBC

Sunday November 25

What? Christmas Market
Where? Guisborough Forest and Walkway
Time? 11am–3pm

Thursday November 29

What? Stockton Sparkles Switch On
Where? Stockton High Street

Friday November 30

What? Hartlepool Christmas Lights Switch On
Where? Hartlepool town centre

DECEMBER

Saturday December 2

What? Darlington Santa Run
Where? West Park Academy
Time? 10am onwards

Saturday December 16

What? Stockton Reindeer Parade
Where? Stockton High Street


If you require a Careys "Personal Credit Loan"

We will provide you with your own agent who you can contact at any time to discuss your repayment options or any other query you may have about your loan.

Representative Example:

£100 loan repayable over 24 weeks: 23 weekly payments of £6 and 1 week of £9: Rate of interest 102.12% pa fixed: Representative 435.5% APR: Total Amount Payable is £147.

 

Site By: Calm Digital